Saturday, December 31, 2005

Thanks for the memories

Big hugs to everyone that celebrated the bday with me. I really tried to post something yesterday, but I wasn't even remotely human until about 2pm.

Now who complained about their song they had to sing??? I don't remember.

Anyways, Happy New Year to all. Be safe tonight.

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Mondays are the new Sunday

The Lamp is funny in the sense that the night to be there moves around. I used to be a Wednesday regular, then I became a Sunday regular and now I'm all over Mondays.

I'm sure if you were there on Sunday, you dealt with a bunch of holiday amateurs. More power to you. I knew better and made my appearance last night.

Mostly I was there to "practice" for Thursday, which if you didn't know is my birthday. Last year, I was completetly obliterated by 9. It was the stuff of legend, I tell you. Worse than the night this summer when I danced and told everyone I loved them.

So yeah, be there or be square. And get there early (8ish?) because you don't get any credit for showing up if I don't remember you being there.

Hope everyone had a great Christmas!!!

Monday, December 19, 2005

A History Lesson

I was waxing nostalgic last night (a tendency I have during this time of year) and was doing some simple math trying to calculate how many songs I may have sung over the course of the Lamp doing karaoke. I am guessing about 5000 songs. 400 odd songs a year over the course of 12 and a half years...

When I started going to the Lamp in 1993, they had just started karaoke. I didn't start going regularly until I moved to the hood in 1994, but once I was in the hood, I was there a lot. They didn't do karaoke every night - just Wed-Sun when the old bartender Rick used to work.

I've been through every KJ that has graced us with their talent on the mic...the first Joe, who was famous for doing "The Streak" on Saturday nights. And then Musico, who Z and Steve used to play darts with after hours. Then there was Luisa and Sonya and Ali and Jenna and Mark and Alioto.

Baker and Toby and Tina are running karaoke now...they have got to be the best combo thus far. Each of them bring their own cool personalities to the mix every night and that's why the Lamp is so fun.

P.S. It was cool to be in on a Sunday...though I'm not going to make a habit of it.

Tuesday, December 13, 2005

New Song Alert!!!

There are a bunch of new songs in the book - next time you're in, take them out for a spin.

BTW, it is two weeks and two days until my birthday. If I see you between now and then, think of it as your audition for karaoke lotto on my birthday!

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Digging Deep

You gotta love nights where there aren't a lot of singers and you're able to dig deep into the karaoke book to find different songs to sing.

Sometimes they work (Russ doing two Pulp songs, Roger doing Cake's "Short Skirt Long Jacket") and sometimes you fail miserably (my half hearted attempt at SP's "Bullet With Butterfly Wings").

Oh...and why was I there on a Monday? I'm trying to build my tolerance for my birthday on the 29th.