Sunday, July 31, 2005

Post Show Stroll

Roger and I made a rare Saturday night appearance at the Lamp tonight. Not a bad move. We got there around 12.30...not too early, not too late. Just Perfect.

Quote of the Night:
"If I wasn't married, I'd be f***ing a 50 year old bitch tonight."
overheard by Doug as someone walked out the door at last call.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
the dudes that sang "It's Raining Men".

Okay, we get that it is Pride weekend.But do you have to sing this song and take your shirt off and be stupid about it? No, you didn't. Sigh.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Russ sang "Let's Get It On" to end the evening. Plus, we were totally amused by the chicks sitting next to me. They were horrifically drunk and flirting with Tommy.

Shout Outs:
It was good to see Johnny roll in (late, of course. He and I have similar bar habits).

I think that is it. See you kids tomorrow!

Friday, July 22, 2005

Late Night Lyn

It was a little after 1 am when I hit the Lamp this morning…oh the glories of last call.

Quote of the night:
“Do you have any tequila in this place?”
Did you really ask that question?

and this exchange:
Texan #1: “I paid him $11”
Teaxan #2; “That’s not enough, we’re in California now.”

There were two older guys from Texas (El Paso) (who stuck out like sore thumbs) drinking it up near me. They were total comedy.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?:
The couple that did Violent Femmes.

Oh my ears. And what were you wearing? You looked like a bad imitation of Avril Lavigne and Derrick Whibley.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Because it was one of those nights where you wanted to see what everyone looked like with the lights on.

Shout outs:
Nice to see the rock kids out on a school night.

Cool T Shirt Guy did not fail us. Cool Tshirt Guy's offering

P.S. Calling me out about wearing 80’s gear on Sunday is not gonna make me do it. Just so you know.

Thursday, July 21, 2005

Humping It

Eh, what the heck. It was Wednesday and it was late, and I was bored. You can guess the outcome from that.

Quote of the night:
Tie ...
“I'm acting way too drunk for not being drunk. I need to catch up”
Russ at around 1am before he started drinking a shot.

"I've been drinking since 9am. That's cool but sad at the same time."
Tommy, who took the day off but was still at the bar. Go figure.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
The two eighties guys sang Danzig's "Mother".

These guys had a serious flashback problem. Except they probably don't remember the 80's. In any case, no one wearing Member's Only jackets and high water pants should touch this song. Ever.

I'm So Glad You Sang That and Excuse for staying until last call:
Russ busted out Ambrosia's "Biggest Part of Me".

I love it when Russ busts out obscure smooth move songs. Too bad there were no women for him to take advantage of. (I told you, Russ. I am so your wingman.)

Who's taking bets that I show up for last call tonight??? Um...yeah.

Monday, July 18, 2005

Sunday Night Live

Okay, I have to admit that I wasn't paying a lot of attention to what was going on last night. Sports Center was calling my name and there were too many good convos going on. But hey, a good time had by all and that is what matters.

Quote of the night:
“You're drinking barf on the rocks.”
Russ told me this as he poured me a surfer on acid as a cocktail. That would be malibu, pineapple juice and jager. I was actually waxing nostalgic because this place I used to go to had these but called them a "Malibu Bitch". I would order them just to say the name.

I'm So Glad You Sang That:
Tommy did the Rolling Stones' "Emotional Rescue."

Your life is not complete until you have seen the spectacle that is Tommy on the mic. Seriously.

Excuse for staying until last call:
No need for an excuse, we were there because we weren't done yet. I am bummed that Russ ran out of the vanilla liqueur he needs to make those vanilla peppermint things. Though I don't think any of us needed another shot at that point.

Shout outs:
It was a great night for t-shirts. Forgive me since I don't remember them all but there were definitely some that were very unique. You know who you are...because I told you that your tees were sweet.

Okay, that's it. No promises about when I am coming in next...It happens when it happens.

Saturday, July 16, 2005

Smile, You're On Camera

Working on a few things here. I set up a Flickr account to post pix. I only uploaded a couple...be patient, I have plenty. But feel free to email pix to our blog email and I may post those as well.

Speaking of pix, I am working on a new Lamp collage. I'll let you guys know in advance when I will be taking pix for it...I definitely need some pix from Sunday nights.

Friday, July 15, 2005

Promises, Promises

Damn it. Roger the non-blogger called me out. Yes, we went to Lamp last night. And it was close to weekend crazy.

Quote of the night:
“How come my dream girl is part of the lesbian party?”
sorry, dude.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
the dude in the backwards baseball cap that did House of Pain's "Jump Around".

First of all, only catchers and assholes wear their caps backwards. Second of all, you totally sucked.

So Glad I Didn't Miss This:
This guy did Charlie Daniels Band's "Devil Went Down To Georgia"

He had a whole schtick to it. He was doing Cartman's voice and singing part of it like that. Then he busted out part of Cartman's repertoire during the fiddle (?) solo....he started on the "Kyle's Mom is A Bitch". Totally fun and out of control. In a good way.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Because we didn't get there until 11.30 and Roger was drinking a free beer.

Shout outs:
Russ had a great story and I was very proud of him when he told me that when it happened, he knew he had to blog about it. More on that when he actually sits down to write it.

Oh, and my good friend, who I affectionately call Boytoy, rolled in with me. He's not drinking these days, so I dubbed him Waterboy last night. I think we may need to drag him in on Sundays.

Okay, that's it. I mean it when I say I won't be in again until Sunday. Really.

Tuesday, July 12, 2005

Nostalgia Night

One of the best things about the Lamp is that you never know who may show up on any given night. I trolled in after the show I went to last night and lo and behold, there was Ethan.

Let's see, I met Ethan because he was Heather's roommate. He also used to date Joelle and I'm pretty sure he dated Toby the KJ as well. Anyways, he doesn't come in that often and it was so nice to see him. For sure.

Ethan is like Mr. Professional Karaoke. But not in a bad way like Moondoggie. He just has that smooth soul voice. Toby and Ethan were having a good time reliving past moments on stage. It's always nice to see that.

I'm So Glad You Sang That:
Russ sang "The Way You Look Tonight"

We all have our favorites from the regulars and this is one that always makes me smile when Russ does it. Nicely Done.

Everybody Dance Now:
There were a group of 40 something women sitting in the front booth who surprised the heck out of me when they came up to dance while I sang Madonna's "Borderline". I guess it was nostalgia night for them too.

Surprise of the night:
The guy that went up and did Weezer's "Buddy Holly".

I was totally expecting this guy to suck and he didn't. Rawk on.

Okay, that's it. I swear that I won't be in again until Sunday. Really.

Monday, July 11, 2005

It's Official

It's Official. Sundays are hands down the best night to be at the Lamp.

Quote of the night:
“Why is everyone standing by the door? I know all the good ass is there, but come on.”
saith Toby. She was on fire on the mic.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
The one two punch of the girls trying to sing emo. First a really bad stab at Dashboard's "Hands Down" and then an even worse version of Jimmy Eat World's "A Praise Chorus".

These songs are not easy songs to sing. Most guys can't pull them off.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Because Russ was making up new drinks and I was the recipient of those experiments. and then we all had one of those vanilla mint shots and it was over....

Shout Outs:
Tasha, you did a great job with Journey's "Anyway You Want It." And I'm glad the rock kids got to sing "Wonderboy" to end the night. Oh, and JJ, Dustin and Michael's attempt at Abba's "Dancing Queen" was a lot of fun. The best thing about singing songs like that is that everyone is into it. And even if it doesn't sound that great, they're having fun and it's all good.

Okay, that's it. See you guys next Sunday!

Thursday, July 07, 2005

Mid Week Pitstop

Nothing like a mid-week pitstop for some liquid therapy.

Quote of the night:
“You're the megaphone of dorks”
saith Scott to Lolo. He also said something about how the only thing Lolo every says is everyone's names. Well, maybe to Scott. Lolo definitely has things to say to women. God help us.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
The striped shirt guys tied - one of them sang Pearl Jam's "Black" and one of them sang Howard Jones' "Everlasting Love."

These guys were pathetically bad. Gentry remarked that "Black" was the first song he learned to play and sing on guitar. That killed me as much as the bad singing. I was like, "what were you? like 10?" He said he was 12. I was in freaking college when that came out. I told you I was an old lady.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Because Tommy just poured a round of Jager and I wasn't done with my bumblebee yet.

Tidbits:
Eric was playing part of the song that he wrote between singers. It's pretty cool. he definitely has the soul.

Tuesday, July 05, 2005

Manic Monday

It was like Groundhog Day last night. We got to re-do Sunday, with much better results.

Quote of the night:
“You can learn a lot about people by watching animal shows”
one of the guys sitting next to me who were totally enthralled by Jack Hanna and his entourage of furry friends on Larry King Live. We were also into watching the ESPN replay of the Nathan Hot Dog eating contest. The winner ate 49 dogs. Amazing.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
The wanna be indie rock guys singing Salt-n-Pepa's "Push It."

That's a hard song to beging with and then two white dudes try to pull it off? Not happening. Plus the dude in the "Death To The Pixies" tee lost all credibility by attempting "Bust A Move". Oh, my ears.

Excuse for staying until last call:
I should have stayed until last call to hear the rock kids do Biz Markie, but Santana's called.

Shout Outs:
Gotta give props to Nyila (please tell me how to spell her name properly...) Nailah. Her version of "Total Eclipse of the Heart" rocked the house.

Tidbits:
Yes, we call you guys that sit up in the front booth the rock kids. Partly because I am HORRIBLE with names (sorry Randy, I fixed my post below), but partly because we love that you guys rock out with us on Sundays. You guys bring a really fun vibe and we dig that.

Monday, July 04, 2005

Pre-Holiday Debauchery

Ah, the Sunday before a holiday is the Lamp at it’s craziest. No one has to work so everyone is out. I didn’t get there until 11 and I actually had to wait in line to get in. Sigh. But it was worth the wait. Good times, good times.

Quote of the night:
Tie:
“I thought she was Peter’s sister…”
Someone talking about the mother of Peter’s child. Hello.

“I didn’t recognize you with your shirt on.”
Me recounting the story of how I officially met Damon, who used to work at Lips. I never saw him with a shirt on until he showed up at Lamp one night. Classic.

Why The Hell Did You Sing That?
Another tie (I’m indecisive tonight…):

Moondoggie for his attempt at patriotism….some sort of medley including God Bless America. Okay, it’s 4th of July. But WTF?

The two guys that decided to sing a Spanish love ballad at 1am. Total mood killer.

Excuse for staying until last call:
Toby told the rock kids they would sing Tenacious D’s “Wonderboy” as the last song. But they were denied. Damn it.

Shout outs: It was cool to officially meet Alysse, who is going to be a contributor to this blog. And a belated shout out to RamonRandy, who will now be known as Cool T-Shirt Guy. Last week it was a Year Of The Cock t-shirt, this week it was some sort of math shirt. Nicely done.

Oh, and since tonight wasn’t a real Sunday night, we’re doing it again tomorrow. Roll in after fireworks…we’ll make it Sunday all over again.